New Normals Can Be Nice

Nothing changes if nothing changes. That’s one of my favorite sayings. My ruts can make life a broken record. Until I change that record, futile noise keeps skipping along. COVID generated a sour taste for new normal terminology, but we should be using the infamous “reset” to change the way we do many things. 

Schools in the south seem to begin earlier every year. We are about three weeks in, and everyone else is about to begin. It is time for millions to engage a new normal. 

Revere Loss

Everything reminds me of my dead husband. Something happens each and every God-given day that I want to tell him to make him laugh. He weighed three hundred pounds. The only way I could force his body to do anything was to overpower his mind. This usually occurred with humor. The effect was laughter. It was the closest thing to psychokinesis I ever achieved.

We must now experience humor together differently. You can only imagine what happened during the Johnny Depp trial when it was discovered that Amber Heard (allegedly) defecated in his bed, blaming it on a 4lb Yorkie. We also have a 4lb Yorkshire Terrier that has mastered spite. If you do something of which it does not approve, she will also go poo in wrong places. Chris frequently teased me by threatening to go poo on my computer and blame it on Molly if I did something he didn’t like. 

I admit in writing that I cried when I learned of Amber’s alleged deed. Not for Johnny’s sake, but because Chris is in heaven. He and I were unable to lose five pounds laughing at her ridiculousness in his man cave. I mean, someone actually did (allegedly) what Chris had joked about for years. It was presented in a court of law. The outrageous hilarity is beyond measure. I would never suggest the American legal travesty was a God wink, but it was certainly a travesty that I couldn’t laugh about it with my husband. Though I was able to look at the sky and guffaw until I cried. If this offends, give me a little grace.

Radiate Positivity

So I’ve never done this before, but I’m prominently placing an inspiring quote for myself and students every morning. I do devotions and Bible studies year-round and sprinkle scripture through the house with Post-Its, but this habit is something new. I pray that quick glances will affect everyone who enters my classroom. Spread some love. 

Reap Benefits

My favorite book on change is James Clear’s Atomic Habits. Speaking of clarity, Mr. Clear’s book on altering habits is unprecedented. The audiobook was one of the best things I’ve ever listened to whilst walking in parks. I’ve just ordered the hardback. 

I’m getting to work by seven o’clock most days. Starting early means beginning each day with writing or planning. The benefits of enjoying the sunrise from a classroom window are rays of goodness.

I would love to know how the Lord has comforted you with humor in a new normal. What habits can reap you some great rewards in new normals? 

Leave a Comment